Can I install Windows 8 upgrade on a new computer without an operating system?

In 2007, I bought a Dell desktop computer that came with a copy of Windows Vista 32-bit Home Basic. Recently, I decided that I wanted to buy a new CPU WITHOUT an operating system since I had a free copy of Windows 7 Professional (32 or 64 bit) to download and install through the engineering college I graduated from in May of 2011. Well, it turns out I couldn't get the product key I needed for that free OS so ended up downloading a limited version of Windows 7 64-bit Professional for the time being.

My question is...Do I need to buy the full version of Windows 8 Professional (64-bit) for it to work on my new computer or can I get away with purchasing a copy for upgrade (upgrading from my copy of Vista on my old computer)?

Also, if I CAN upgrade, does that mean my copy of Vista can no longer be used on my old computer once I upgrade to Windows 8 on my new one?

Any answers that can point me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

In order to install Windows 8 Pro upgrade, you will first need to reinstall your original version of Windows that was running on your computer prior to installing the Windows 8 Release Preview. Whether that is (Windows XP, Vista or Windows 7). After installing it, you can then do an upgrade to Windows 8 Pro. The Windows 8 Release Preview does not support upgrades to Windows 8 Pro.

Reinstall Windows XP:

Install,reinstall, or uninstall Windows - Help & How-to ...

Reinstall Windows Vista: Installing and reinstalling Windows Vista

Reinstall Windows 7:

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/Installing-and-reinstalling-Windows-7

14. UPGRADES. To use upgrade software, you must first be licensed for the software that is eligible for the upgrade. Upon upgrade, this agreement takes the place of the agreement for the software you upgraded from. After you upgrade, you may no longer use the software you upgraded from.

Best,
Andre