Black screen after boot in Windows 8

Some background story:

I've been testing Windows 8 Release Preview since a few months back, it has been working GREAT. Never had any issues.

So today I eagerly bought and installed Windows 8 Pro and everything was fine for about an hour. I started to update a lot of native Modern Apps (xbox music, Photos, weather and such) and that worked well.

Then I moved on and started to install my old desktop apps, small programs like dropbox, Ccleaner, Winzip, Winamp and stuff like that.

After installing those programs, which I've had before on the Release Preview,  I got this really weird issue where the computer (an Acer Predator with a Nvidia card) started to get error messages, where it said it had to restart because of the issues.

And this happened after about 2 minutes every time after that I had logged in to Win 8.

So then I figured it had to be one of the apps that messed everything up, so I tried to do a System Restore, and choose a restore point from an hour earlire, when I installed the update for the windows apps. The System Restore took a really long time considering I had barely installed anything or made any changes to the overall system.

After the System restore was finished the computer just showed the black screen right after the blue windows 8 logo appears after boot.

I can NOT go into Safe mode (I've tried hitting F8 and SHIFT´F8 several times).

I can get to the Bios Boot mode if I press F12.

At the black screen I can see the cursor and the black screen which flickers between really black and a bit less black :S.

Anyone?

I've never had any issues like this before either with Windows 7 or 8, so right now I'm really disappointed as I just bought win 8 after testing it out for several months.

Best regards

Martin

* Please try a lower page number.

* Please enter only numbers.

Hi MartinRinman,

Welcome to Windows 8 Community!