Is there a way to revert the Windows 8 START Screen to the Windows XP or Windows 7 format?

HELP!  Is there ANY way to revert the Windows 8 START Screen to the Windows XP or Windows 7 format?  I am new to Win8 and am finding it VERY Clunky, time consuming and EXTREMELY FRUSTRATING to navigate.  There's an old saying, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it!"  Obviously this old advice was not used in creating Windows 8. 

Question Info

Last updated August 9, 2018 Views 623 Applies to:
Answer
Answer

Nothing is built in to change it.  I'd encourage you to try it out for a while, maybe even personalize it to fit you, and treat it more like a dashboard.  Toggle to it when you want to see current information:  how many emails or notifications you have, what the temperature is.  In other words, treat it like you would your cell phone.

You can just avoid it altogether if you want to.  Just right-click the apps you use and "pin to taskbar" so you never need to use the Start screen at all if you don't want it.  You'll never have to leave the desktop.

If it's just not for you, there are some programs you can give a look at.  A few are ClassicShell and Start8 from StarDock.  I'm sure there's many other programs out there too that can provide the old style of Start menu.

Shawn "Cmdr" Keene | Microsoft MVP - Windows Insider | CmdrKeene.com | tweet me: @LtCmdrKeene
Microsoft MVPs are independent experts offering real-world answers. Learn more at mvp.microsoft.com.

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

Answer
Answer