basic render driver vs graphics card render

hi all,

how do I check which is being used on my computer?

I have a gtx770 graphics card installed on windows 8, and for some reason it crashes my computer when graphics get too intensive. I was told that the problem may be the result of my windows 8 basic render driver update conflicting with my graphics card driver. I am a tech handicap, so please go easy!!

cheers,

josh

Hi Josh,

1. What is the error you get when the computer crashes?

2. Did you make any changes to the computer prior to this issue?

3. Where did you get to know that “the problem may be the result of my windows 8 basic render driver update conflicting with my graphics card driver”?

4. Have you performed any troubleshooting step on the computer?

Event Viewer is a tool that displays detailed information about significant events (for example, programs that don't start as expected or updates that are downloaded automatically) on the computer. Event Viewer can be helpful when troubleshooting problems and errors with Windows and other programs.

Check in Event Viewer for exact error code and the cause of the issue. Follow the steps to open Event viewer:

a. Press Windows Key + X key.

b. Click Event Viewer.

In Event Viewer, go to Windows Logs - Application, and look for Error in that list, there should be such an event for each crash. Double-click the latest event and copy/paste its description into your reply.

Let us try to boot the computer in safe mode and check if the computer crashes.

Safe mode starts Windows with a limited set of files and drivers. Startup programs don't run in safe mode, and only the basic drivers needed to start Windows are installed.

Windows Startup Settings (including safe mode): http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-8/windows-startup-settings-including-safe-mode

Reply with the status of the issue and we will be glad to offer our assistance.

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.