not enough memory available to create a full resolution image for saving

When editing a photo in Lightroom 3 with an external editor (Nik software) I get the following message when trying to save the photo:
not enough memory available to create a full resolution image for saving

I have been using this exact same program on my laptop for a couple of years, so know it should work.  I recently got a new desktop with 16 gigs of memory and a 2T drive, so I KNOW I have enough memory, etc.  Is there some setting I need to fix to let me use more of the memory or virtual memory? 

WIN 7
Lightroom 3
Nik Color efex pro 4

Hi,

1.      What is the exact error message did you receive?

2.      Did you try saving the image on a different location?

I would suggest you to follow the link and check.

Optimize performance | Lightroom

http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/400/kb400808.html

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

Thanks for your feedback.

Hi - not sure if you still need the answer to this.
I had a similar problem with Lightroom 4/Nik Color Efex Pro 4 and the "not enough memory..."

Anyway found this solution for my problem from:  

Every version of our software downloaded is the full functioning version so you don't have to worry about being limited use as far as getting all the bells and whistles. Below I have provided a solution that may help you with the memory issue you are receiving. This solves the issue for most, but as your not using a host application it could act a little differently. But this is definitely worth a try to get the standalone running more smoothly.