Error message: "Cannot connect to Service Control Manager", when trying to run Free Serial Port Monitor.

Trying to run some newly acquired software, Free Serial Port Monitor, I get a message: Can not connect to Service Control Manager ( you need to have administrative privilege to access the Service Control Manager). 

Since I am logged on as an Administrator I haven't a clue what to do - except, of course, curse Microsoft!

Question Info

Last updated August 3, 2018 Views 15,779 Applies to:

Hi CouncillorJB,

1. Does this happen only when you try to run Free Serial Port Monitor?

2. Is your system connected to a domain?

Method 1:

You may try running the program using Administrative privileges and check if it helps:

How do I run an application once with a full administrator access token?

Method 2:

You may temporarily disable security software and firewalls installed on the system and check if the issue persists.

Note: Make sure to enable the security software on the computer after checking for the issue.

Microsoft-Forum Moderator

2 people were helped by this reply

·

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

Many thanks for trying to help me so quickly.  I have only just been able to follow your suggestions.

My initial outcome is lack of success, with much tearing of hair.

I think I'm out of my depth. When I download a program I'm stupid enough to expect it to work.

In answer to your questions: