Windows 7 Upgrade Ultimate 64bit from Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit - Error with "A required CD/DVD drive device driver is missing.

I can see many posts for this problem, but the different solutions all confuse me. I am not a PC techie.

I was trying to run Windows 7 64bit ULTIMATE UPGRADE from Windows Vista 64bit HOME PREMIUM on my PC.  

Before I ran Windows 7 Upgrade using the 64bit disk I bought from a Retailer in Sheffield England, I checked on the Microsoft website and downloaded Windows Upgrade Advisor.

This reported a number of minor issues, which I dealt with. It did NOT report any issue with my motherboard or CD/DVD device.

I also downloaded Easy Transfer, but as I had recently rebuilt my PC I did not have many files to copy over so I have not yet used it.

I have now rolled back the install, after getting very frustrated trying to obtain the "driver"

Some of the postings on the web suggest:

buying an external USB CD/DVD device. I might do this and try again

Getting an update for ITE IT8211 ATA/ATAPI Controller driver - whatever that means?

A USB install option involving ripping the disk into a ISO image and then making a bootable USB stick.

Why on earth do I need to do this? Surely using a USB External DVD/CD device and putting into that the Windows 7 upgrade disk will do the same job?

More important what is an ISO image? How do I create it? Why should I have to do this?

This software has cost me GBP180.00 when I bought it from Currys Retail store Sheffield UK w/c Jun 21st 2010, and I cannot get it to work. It is not at all satisfactory! I deliberately waited till now before buying to make surea all the bugs were ironed out!! Obviously they are not!!

My PC was bought new from MESH in May 2009 and the build detail is:

Mesh Desktop PC model XGS PII 955

AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Quad Core Processor AM3 3.20ghz, 8mb cache DDR2/3

ASUS M4A78-E Mainboard AMD 790GX Hybrid CrossFireX - AM2+ Phenom II, DDR2- ATX