Can't Repair my Windows 64-Bit after 'missing operating system error'

Help!

Ok so I'm a total windows newbie, I don't understand any of the windows jargon and I'm looking for as simple an answer as possible please!
Today when I turned on my alienware aurora ALX (after the alien head popped up and loaded) and error message popped up stating 'missing operating system'. I read through a couple of sites and tried using my windows 64-bit CD to reinstall windows. I went into BIOS and set the CD to boot first and all was well for a few minutes. The screen loaded and I selected my language but then, where people had said there would be a repair option, my computer went straight to the partition screen. I tried selecting the only partition that appeared and clicking next but another error message appeared stating 'Can't create new partition'. I could not procede from there so I shut everything down. (im on a mac right now)

Someone please help,
Samuel Knight 

Is the win7 cd an actual MS win disk, or an Aurora recovery disk?

If a recovery disk it doesnt have all the options that a MS win7 dvd has

If an MS win dvd, then there will be no option to repair if no win installation is found

Is there any indication given on the size of the partition shown as available?

When you  first pwr on, is there any shortcut key to run Diagnostics? - on the bios screen

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

Thanks for your feedback.

Thank for a reply Palcouk,

The CD included is an MS windows 7 64-bit disk but I also have a Alienware Aurora resource disk which I can use to run diagnostics. I have run the tests on the resource disk and on the BIOS but they all come back fine. So i'm pretty surre that is a MS win dvd. But do you now anyway to recover my data without the 'repair' option?

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.