Today I downloaded over 1300 pictures from a friends camera with her consent. It is a Canon camera and I have 2 Canon cameras myself and hoped it would automatically use one of the 2 Canon software programs loaded on my computer loaded with Windows 7. Immediately when I plugged it in the Windows download started in the lower right side of my monitor. I decided to just let it go ahead and do it, figuring I would find them later. I was never asked where I wanted to put them and, after much searching, cannot find where they went. The download took around 20 minutes. Sure was a good thing I did not check the box at the bottom allowing me to delete the pictures as they were downloaded!
Can someone give me a clue how the system works with regard to these downloads?