Question

Q: Disappearing ad drives, unstable boot up process.

I've been using the Windows 7 on my old Asus desktop for a few months without a glitch until recently when the hard drives started disappearing by themselves or freeze after copying large files from the external HD and crashed. I reinstall the Windows 7 few times, all of the oldie drivers that came with the PC, and the OS updates nothing seem to help.

My PC is set to the S3 mode and three of the four internal hard drives are 1TB in sizes and they are all SATA drives. I have a CD drive that is on the PATA and it doesn't seem to cause any trouble. When the hard drives went to sleep, they woke up without any problem in the past.

When it was fresh installed afew months back, the Windows 7 OS was already providing all that was needed to run the PC to communicate with the rest of the internal hard drives for a few months without a single problem. I did use the drivers that came with the PC only to solve the problems but the symptions are persistent. I've been downloading Microsoft updates regularily from the MS site so my PC is up to date as far as the OS is concern and I wonder if the newer updates are to blame.

The moment the PC is booted up, "my compter" icon would show one or two, sometimes all three hard drives (excluding the main C drive) and when one of the troublesome hard drive is clicked to open, the PC would hang indefinately. Only shutting down the PC compleley (not resetting) would allow the boot up process to continue back but often the PC wouldn't boot up but frozen up on the big Windows 7 MS icon at the beginning of the boot process indefinitely. If it was the hard drives problem, one or two, even all three drives wouldn't disappear randomly.

Your help is greatly appreiciated.

Thanks

Answer

A:

Cody, thanks.