Computer wont come out of sleep mode in windows 7

My computer wont come out of sleep mode.. screen will go black after some time.. than useing the mouse and keyboard wont wake it up.. the screen stays black. yet the light on the monitor stays green instead of orange  (it has signal but nothing is there) i have to hold the power button and kill it than reboot to get the screen back..

i never had any hardware problems in Xp but im new to Windows7 and still getting Familar with it.

figured sombody would ask some system specs..

i just installed windows the other day and downloaded newest drivers for everything. also got all automatic updates.

Asus Mobo M2N sli Deluxe........ AMD 64x2 5000 black edition...... Gskill 3gb ddr2-800 ram..... Nvidia-Asus- 9600gt Videocard..... Segate Barricuda 500GB black edition hdd.. Standard USB keyboard and mouse.... HP p1230 monitor (CRT)

also. in power settings turn off the display is set to 10 minutes, and sleep mode is set to never! so im guessing its not really going into sleep mode..

I now went in and looked at some settings and made some changes..

in advanced settings i turned off hybrid sleep (i dont know what it does)     i saw Selective USB suspend setting that was enabled (dont know what it means) could that be turning off my mouse and keyb = thus why i cant wake it up?????    i turned off all sleep mode features now.. and disabled all hybernate/turn off display features. and am going to let it sit for awhile and see if it does it again.. i will report back if this works.

any input is appreciated.

~john

Question Info

Last updated November 11, 2018 Views 137,604 Applies to:
Answer

Hi John,

Let’s first check to make sure that mouse and keyboard settings are set to allow the device to wake the computer from sleep.

To allow a mouse to wake your computer