Share media from my Media Player 12 using Windows 7 with my PS3 wirelessly

Hi - A friend told me about sharing stuff in Media Player on his computer with his PS3 wirelessly.  I am running Windows 7 and I believe I have Media Player 12.  I am using a wireless router.  On my other computer using XP and Media Player 11, I can see "Media Sharing" under the Library tab but I can't figure out how to sharer with MP12.  I'm a beginner so please make any answers simple t underatnd!
Answer
Answer

Hi,

In order to connect Play Station 3 (PS3), you should know your computer MAC (Media Access Control) Address.

Step 1: To obtain the MAC address in Windows 7

a.       Click on Start; in the start search type “cmd” (without quotes) and hit Enter.

b.      Type the following command and press Enter to get the MAC address

getmac

Step 2: Connect PS3 to Windows 7

a.       Open up the Network Sharing Center (enter Network Sharing Center into the search field on your Start Menu)

b.      In the sidebar click on the hyperlink “Change advanced sharing settings”:

c.       Turn on Network Discovery and File and Printer Sharing

d.      Then, click on “Choose Media Streaming Options”

e.      In the next page, you’ll find all unknown devices. Your PS3 will be listed as unknown device as well.

f.        Click on all “unknown devices” and look for the MAC address that we found in step (1).

g.       If you find the MAC address of the PS3, select “Allowed” from the dropdown field for that unknown device.

h.      Make sure that Windows 7 firewall is not blocking access to the PS3 device. Sometimes, you also have to forward ports to share files between Windows 7 and your PS3 or if you want to do more than just sharing files.