Deleting old homegroup

Basically, I set up a homegroup on my home network with my desktop and since then I have reinstalled windows on my desktop and forgot to first delete the old homegroup/make a note of the password. I am now trying to set up homegroup again but the only options I get on all the computers in the network (6 in total lol) is to join the homeshare group but cant as havent got the password.

Is there anyway of deleting an old homegroup without first logging onto it? 

 

Hope that makes sense. Lol

Answer
Answer

Go to Control Panel > All Control Panel Items > Homegroup > Leave the Homegroup and click Leave the Homegroup.

If all the computers leave the Homegroup, it will no longer exist, so it‘s effectively deleted and can be setup again.

12 people found this reply helpful

·

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback.

 
 

Question Info


Last updated April 20, 2020 Views 15,670 Applies to: