local print spooler is not running with 7 due to canon mx850 install.

Ok so I upgraded my netbook from xp to 7. I have a canon mx850 network printer installed in my network. I first installed my school printer. Then I went to network, and located my printer and hit install driver. After that, it installed, but it's giving me CRAZY print spooler problems.

First, it keeps saying local print spooler is not running (that's a damn lie). I restarted it multiple times and restarted my computer.

Neither has helped

I then went to the canon website and tried to install their drivers.

that didn't help because it can't install bceause the print spooler is not running.

i can't print a damn thing and being a student, i need to print!

restarting the print spooler won't due anything, this seems to be a bug in 7 with the network printer drivers.
|
Answer
Answer

Hi amirkhan780,

If the Print Spooler service fails when printing, when Windows starts or it cannot be restarted, the usual reason is that one or more printer drivers is defective.

Follow these 2 methods to clear remove printer and printer drivers as well as to clear the printer spooler.

Method 1: Delete the printer from Control Panel.

1.       Open Printers by clicking the Start button, clicking Control Panel, clicking Hardware and Sound, and then clicking Printers.

2.       Right-click the printer that you want to remove, and then click Delete.

If you can't delete the printer, right-click it again, click Run as administrator, and then click Delete. If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.

Now try adding the printer. If the problem persists, go to method 2.

Method 2: Delete certain keys in the registry to remove printers and printer drivers