I have Windows 7 Ultimate. A couple of weeks ago I had a big issue with some of my user permissions being changed (not sure how I did it but it happened) so i was unable to access programs and files, after some time with a MS tech on chat and a system restore (unsucessful), I just created a new user account and deleted the old one.
Everything seems to be working fine now, however before I created the new user account I copied some files I had on the desktop to a flash drive and put them with my new user desktop. The file property keep showing up as "Read only" even after unchecking
the box and applying it just reverts when I close it.
This also happens when I create a new folder on the desktop, its default property is "Read Only" - why would this be, and how can i change it?