Local Session Manager

Hello, this might be a long question

Few month ago i did a tweak using an apps named "Hone", and tomorrow after i tweaked my laptop, when it boot it just says local session manager, i can boot the laptop normally but, what is Local Session Manager?, and why when i tried to shut down my pc it just said like, "Stopping Group Policy Client, Stopping App readiness" and then last "Stopping service" is it okay? since im scared if something like that can broke my laptop. By the way, i can shutdown and boot normally, im just curious what is like "Stopping Group Policy Client" or something like that, if you know how to revert back to normal boot text and shutdown, it would be appreciated

|
Hi Muhammad -

I'm Kevin B. Independent advisor and a Windows user like you. I do apologize for the inconvenience that you experiencing right now, let me help you sort things out.

A Local Session Manager or lsm.exe is a windows operating system service that runs in the background of your computer. Its main function is to manage the connections related to servers on the hosted machines. It appears that when you made the tweak on your computer, it started some services on your computer related to servers.

If you want to reverse the changes made on the computer settings, you can perform system restore. This process will take your computer settings back to an earlier point in time where computer is working fine. If there's any changes made on your computer that removes the service, system restore should be able to fix the issue for you. To perform system restore please follow the steps below:

1. Open the run box by pressing the Windows key + R and type rstrui.exe
2. Once system restore windows open, normally it will suggest a restore point (sometimes it doesn't) if it does, select the 2nd option and hit next
3. Select your desired restore point date and time and hit next and finish.

Windows will going to restart your computer to initiate system restore. System restore might take several minutes to complete depending on the current speed of your computer and the changes it will made. Applications and updates that was installed on the computer prior to the date selected will be removed. It is important that when system restore starts, process must not be interrupted.

DISCLAIMER:
System Restore is a recovery tool for Windows that allows you to reverse certain kinds of changes made to the operating system. System Restore is used to return important Windows files and settings—like drivers, registry keys, system files, installed programs, and more—back to previous versions and settings. Being said all applications and changes made prior to the date selected will be removed and needs to be re-installed if its needed.

Hope this will help and have a bless day!

Thanks.
Kevin B.
Independent advisor

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback.

My system restore recovery is off, UNFORTUNATELY, is there any way to fix it without restoring like that?

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback.

Hi, I'm Robinson, an Independent Advisor and a Windows user like you.
You can use the media creation tool to repair the Windows.
1-Download the media creation tool.
https://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=691209
2-Run the tool and select 'Upgrade this pc now'
3-Select the option 'Keep all my files and apps'
4-Then click to update.

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback.

Hi, first thanks for your help but, will my apps got uninstalled? I need an answer before i tried since i have LOT LOT of apps

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback.

The in-place upgrade preserves the software you have installed. You just need select the option 'Keep all my files and apps'.

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback.

When i tried pressing upgrading my pc, it says downloading windows 10, no option for "keep all my files and apps" so i cancel it, is it supposed to download windows 10 first and then i will get that option?

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback.

Yes, first the iso will be downloaded then will be verified it will take about 30 minutes then you can see this window with options.

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback.

 
 

Question Info


Last updated May 28, 2021 Views 16 Applies to: