Upgrade to Window 10, Apps missing and other issues

I had a Windows 10 ready PC running 8.1, I had been deferring the update until it gained some stability, but a few days ago I took the plunge as I was being nagged to do it. It went relatively smoothly but there were a few issue to report some of which took quite some sorting and some unresolved. I am a retired IT professional so have some skills in the area, but how some people get on may be an issue. I am running all updates and am at Ver 1511 Update 10586,104.

1) Some desktop app shortcuts did not migrate to the 'All Apps' start menu item. Even new installs may fail to register correctly in the Start Menu. I've never seen the like of this before and have been using Windows since 3.1. Upon research I note many people have had the issue and there are claims that the number of shortcuts could not exceed 512. But I only have 200 according to the powershell "Get-StartApps | measure" command. I checked that all the shortcuts were correctly located in the "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs" directory and compared that with the "all Apps" in the start menu. So I had to make a workaround, using technology dating back to Windows 3.1. I made a folder, "Missing Menu" copied the missing shortcuts into it and pinned the folder to the Start Menu. I then realised that there might be some similarity between the missing items.  A program's uninstall shortcut is usually missed... OK understand why this might be as you should uninstall from the Control Panel, But two shortcuts to executables that failed to register were non-Microsoft Utilities (Malware Bytes and CCleaner). I thought failure might be due to the fact they need Admin privilege to run. But it seems Microsoft might be 'Blacklisting' some apps. So I renamed the executable, created a new shortcut, copied the shortcut to the StartMenu folder and yes they appeared in the All Apps menu. .. Suspicious ?