Microsoft Support Experience

The below represents my Microsoft Support experience over the last 24-36 hours (16 – 17 Jan 18) and now wish to share my observations with the Community.

It revolved around an MS employee recommending having remote access to my PC and invoking the Restore routine. The Restore failed because it appears the Restore procedure validates the Bit Locker key held in the restore point with the Bit Locker key held in my Microsoft Account.  If there is a mismatch of Bit Locker Keys, the Windows reboot routine fails and returns the “Blue screen of death”, confirming the Auto Repair failed to correctly initiate the “start” process.

Please note I had no direct involvement in invoking the Restore Point nor issuing the Bit Locker number.  Both processes are managed by Microsoft. I understand the Bit Locker number was changed by Microsoft circa 12/9/2018, without my being informed.  Practically, I have no reason to be involved in this, as I am not a PC expert and cannot impact the process.

The lack of awareness and acceptance of responsibility by all subsequent Microsoft staff (except one, who has been very helpful) involved in the events of 16/1 – 17/1 2018 is deplorable.  However, a supervisor/manager wanted to charge me £300 or more to assign IT resource to my case to fix the issue, because my machine had just moved out of warranty. This is malpractice on a huge scale and demonstrates a major flaw in the business model prescribed by Microsoft, on a global scale.

It is unacceptable for Microsoft users to have to bear the cost of support actions which inherently stem from lack of rigorous internal Microsoft compliance and compatibility testing and weak internal self-checking procedures.  It is fundamentally immoral and wrong to insist on charging customers to fix problems generated by Microsoft and its staff for events that are outside of the users control and in which the user is not involved.