Wired Local Area Connection missing from Network and Sharing Center Windows 10

Somewhat frustrated as my wired LAN connection has disappeared from the Network and Sharing Centre in Windows 10 and am unable to connect to a network through it.

Device Manager identifies the adapter as up to date and working. Tried the uninstall/scan for hardware changes fix suggested elsewhere but to no avail.

I am relatively new to the PC world. Any suggestions?

Thanks in anticipation.

Your enquiry suggests that everything was working well in Win10 and suddenly you've lost connection.   As an initial effort, do you maintain a LAN connection through an external modem/router?   If so, are all the lights on, that should be on or flashing when data is received/transmitted?

Assuming that possibly only one or two lights are on, then your modem/router has lost connection to the network.   Have you tried unplugging the power cable to the modem/router.   Do so and then after a minute, plug it back in.   After a few seconds, other lights should come on.   Does this initial attempt fix your internet connection?

Others may pipe in with other suggestions after you respond to the above. 

5 people were helped by this reply

·

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

Thanks Chriso747 for your responses.

I am able to maintain a network connection through the wireless adapter. I can also connect through the Bluetooth and Cellular adapters. Its just the Ethernet that has disappeared.

Sorry this didn't help.

So, your Device Manager shows your network adapter and that it is working properly.   Do you see that adapter in your Network and Sharing Center (go to Settings - Network and Internet - Ethernet - Change Adapter Options)?