Storage leak on NTFS system drive in Windows 10 (huge system files?)

Hi - I'm an IT professional with a baffling Windows 10 problem (Pro 1809 10.0.17763.615/semi-annual channel).

Recently over 300 GB of space has mysteriously gone missing on an NTFS system drive, and none of the tools I've found can tell me why. It's unclear exactly when the problem began, because the missing space wasn't noticed until the drive reached capacity during normal operation. Windows Storage settings reports a whopping 347 GB for "System Files", but I suspect this is a display glitch as the space doesn't seem to actually exist in any files on the file system.

I've tried all the obvious things, and scoured the internet and tried all the less obvious non-destructive suggestions I can find (screenshots below). Things I've tried include:
  1. Searching the entire file system (including hidden folders) using WinDirStat, SpaceSniffer, Cygwin du, and others running with administrative access
  2. Repeated on-line and off-line chkdsk (no errors)
  3. vssadmin list commands to audit shadow copies
  4. dism scans (no problems)
  5. Unprivileged and Administrative Disk Cleanup (nothing useful)
  6. Full virus scans with Windows Defender and AVG (installed after the problem began) are clean, and I've noticed no other virus-like activity.
  7. Drive-level diagnostics: SeaTools and Samsung Magician (all clean)
This system is a server with a large investment in configuration, so reformatting or resetting windows is not really an option.

Can anyone provide suggestions on what else to try for tracking down and reclaiming my missing space?

Thanks,
-Dan

|
Hi Dan, Windows Explorer is useless when it comes to working out where your hard drive space is being used . . .

Click the link below to download a small free utility called Treesize. Using that tool, you will instantly see where this space is being used

https://www.jam-software.com/treesize_free/