Need help to choose the Media Player to play the multimedia

Original Title: Windows Media Player

I have Windows 8.1 operating system, But I dont like the Windows Media Player that is recommended. Can an earlier more simplified version be used?
I'm an aging veteran who likes to keep things simple and the new version of Media Player is anything but simple. I cant create a simple playlist without all the Album art not to mention all the music is listed as Albums.  HELP!

Question Info

Last updated February 6, 2018 Views 1,697 Applies to:

* Please try a lower page number.

* Please enter only numbers.

Sorry, but none of the previous versions can be installed in either Windows 8.0/8.1. You can download several different Media Players from the store or from the web such as Cyberlink PowerDVD or VLC Media Player.  Hope this helps and if you need any further assistance please post and we will be glad to assist you.

The above opinion is mine and mine alone and doesn't necessarily reflect that of Microsoft, it's employees. or any other member of this forum.

"When we try to pick out anything by itself, we find it hitched to everything else in the Universe" -John Muir

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

VLC is a good choice.

I have installed K-lite codec pack http://www.free-codecs.com/k_lite_codec_pack_download.htm and it comes with a "Media Player Classic",  When you get to the association part of the install, choose the classic verson to open your media files.

Sorry this didn't help.

Thanks for the suggestions guys.

Sorry this didn't help.

You can skip the K-lite Codec install and download just Media Player Classic here:

http://mpc-hc.org/