Search in Windows 8.1...... loss of functionality compared to Windows 7 ?????

Is the following true?  Search in Windows 8.1 cannot find things in my apps.  I am a heavy user of Outlook 2007 and OneNote 2010.  I rely on search to find things.....a lot !!!  The search box above the start in Windows 7 was great....it would search my files, emails, and OneNote contents.  This doesn't seem to be the case for Windows 8 or 8.1.   I've looked around a bit and it seems like that functionality has been removed.....if this is true.....I can only ask....what the heck are they thinking???  I use this thing for a living and the need to use app specific search is a major step backwards.  I'm hoping I'm wrong and someone will point me to the appropriate settings.  Thx in advance......jim.f

Question Info

Last updated February 6, 2018 Views 75 Applies to:

Hi Jim,

With search in Windows 8.1 our intent is to have one way to find what you’re looking for, whether it’s a document on your PC, a photo album in the cloud, an app, PC setting or a website. In just a tap or a click you can play, view, launch, or browse.

It supports local folders, apps, PC settings and features, SkyDrive account, mail accounts, and even the web, displaying results right on the Start Screen. Modern search needs to be complete and help you find what you are looking for.

Refer to the links for more information:

How to search

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-in/windows-8/search-apps-files-settings

Using the charms for things you do often

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-in/windows-8/charms-tutorial

Hope this answers your query. You can write back to us for further queries/issues related to windows and we will be glad to assist you further.

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.