Microsoft Edge will not connect to internet

When I first boot the computer Microsoft Edge connects to the internet.  If I close the Edge window but open it later in the session without re-booting all I will get is a blank Edge screen.  If I put a web address or a subject in the search box I get no response.  Nor can I close the Edge screen.  I can open another application over it but it will not close.  In the meantime Outlook functions as it should.  The only way I can get to the net is to re-boot.

What is going on here (I had no problems connecting to the net before downloaded the Windows 10 upgrade). And please phase your response for a simple minded person.  I am not a techie.

Thanks,

Dave

Question Info

Last updated January 1, 2020 Views 1,946 Applies to:

Related Forums

Hi Dave,

Thank you for posting your query in Microsoft Community. I understand the inconvenience caused to you and will help you.

To assist you better, I would like to ask if the issue is particular to Microsoft Edge or with other browsers also.

I suggest you to perform the methods provided below:

Method 1: Run SFC (System File Checker) scan.

1. Right click on Start button and select “Command Prompt (Admin)”.
  2. Type “sfc /scannow” and press Enter.
  3. After the scan is complete, type “exit” and press Enter.

For more information about SFC scan, click on the link below:

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/929833

Method 2: DISM TOOL:

1. On the Search bar type “cmd”. Right Click on the Command Prompt option and select Run as Administrator. (If prompted for a password, type the password and click Allow).
  2. Type “DISM.exe /Online /Cleanup-image /Restorehealth” (Without quotes).

For more information about DISM click on the link below:
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/947821

Hope the information is helpful. Feel free to write to us for any other assistance with Windows, we’ll be glad to assist you.

1 person was helped by this reply

·

Did this solve your problem?