Windows 10 "Invalid Value for Registry" JPEG

I bought a new computer and almost immediately *upgraded* to Windows 10 when I got the alert, and then downloaded a bunch of photos from my phone and now I cannot open any of them, because I get "Invalid Value for Registry" errors. I need to be able to open them so I can edit and I can't even open to view!  Please advise, I don't know what to do or how to fix this.   I'm a novice, and I need help.... 

***Post moved by the moderator to the appropriate forum category.***

Answer
Answer

UPDATE NOV 2016: Since I created the post below (roughly one year ago) it appears that Microsoft has added a new feature with the anniversary update that allows to reset the app without touching the registry. I suggest you try this first:

Go to Start, then Settings, System, Apps & Features and click on "Photos" app. Under Advanced options you'll find the reset button.

If that still doesn't work, here is my old post....:

Solution from December 2015:

Hi, I had the same problem and I after a few days of research to find a solution I think I got it:

As expected, the problem is with the registry. I have actually done several things at once but I think this does the magic:

1. Open regedit as Administrator

2. check the following key: \HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Classes\Local Settings\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\AppModel\Repository\Families\Microsoft.Windows.Photos_ ... etc.

3. You should have several entries for this key which all have a version number for the app in the name - like: Microsoft.Windows.Photos_15.1201.10020.0_ etc.

4. Check if you have 8 entries in total of which 4 have an older version number than the other 4. That basically means that 4 are outdated an were not deleted for some reason (if you have already uninstalled the photo app there might be only 4 entries in there; some reported having only 4 keys, with 2 keys being outdated - same principle should apply though).