Windows 10 and Qualcomm Atheros AR956x Wireless Network Adapter – Intermittent network connection issues

I’ve had this ASUS Model X555L for about a year, but used it daily for only about a month.  When I purchased it, Windows 8.1 was installed, and I had no issues.  I permitted the on-line upgrade to Windows 10 the summer of 2016, and did not notice wireless connectivity issues until mid-December 2016.  At this point, I've spent quite a few hours attempting to resolve the issue and I need help.

Processor: Intel® Core™ i3-5005U CPU @ 2.00GHz

Installed memory (ROM): 6.00 GB

System type: 64-bit Operating System, x64-based processor

Edition: Windows 10 Home

Version: 1607

OS Build: 14393.693 (build 14393.rs.1_release_inmarket.161208-2252)

The PC also had McAfee LiveSafe™ installed, and I have a subscription:

McAfee LiveSafe, Version: 14.0, Release Name: 14.0 R10

McAfee Security Center, Version:15.0, Build:15.0.179

McAfee Anti-Virus and Anti-Spyware, Version: 19.0, Build: 19.0.161, Engine version: 2856.0

McAfee Personal Firewall, Version: 16.0, Build: 16.0.126

McAfee WebAdvisor, Version: 4.0, Build: 4.0.4.206

McAfee Anti-Spam, Version: 16.0, Build: 16.0.137, Content version: 5814

McAfee Parental Controls, Version: 17.0, Build: 17.0.116

McAfee QuickClean and Shredder, Version: 15.0, Build: 15.0.121

McAfee Vulnerability Scanner, Version: 5.0, Build: 5.0.128

The problem is the wireless connection, which intermittently disconnects.  Unfortunately, the disconnections usually occur at the most inconvenient of times.  Sometimes I can reconnect simply by opening the wifi settings, other times I must reboot.  Sometimes my PC will more readily connect to a nearby open wifi signal rather than our own 2.4 GHz 802.11n, which is secured with WPA2.

I have rebooted the PC and the wireless router countless times attempting reset.  I’ve cleared the surplus and unnecessary files from the PC, and performed several normal maintenance activities.