What is the K-Lite Codec Pack? Should I delete it?

What is it?  Will it help  or hinder my computer in anyway?  Should I install it, delete it, or WHAT? I found it in START/ALL PROGRAMS of my Windows XP. I'm new to todays computing, and my last computer was an 80286 running at 16MHz with a 40Mb hard drive.  Yeh ... I could use some help!  Thanks.
original title: K-Lite Codec Pack

I know this is a few years late, but if I found this question other may as well.

The K-Lite CODEC pack (http://klitedownload.com/Download/) is a collection of CODECs that some people find useful for playing audio and video files.

A CODEC is a bit of software that can CODE and/or DECODE audio and video files. (More information here: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/Codecs-frequently-asked-questions)

Do you need the K-Lite CODEC pack? Well that depends, there are people that swear by them and don't apparently have any problems with them, but I personally feel that the crashes that inevitably come are not worth the hassle. (I am one who tends to push my computer to its limit so if there is a crash that could potentially happen, it probably does.) I am sure not everyone will experience crashes.

My suggestion is to not use a CODEC pack. If you find that there is a media file that you need to play but cannot, that you go to the website of the people who make the CODEC and get it from there as it should be the most up-to-date and there is often support options available on the site if you encounter problems. CODEC packs also tend to install way more stuff than you need greatly increasing the possibility of crashes and potently impacting the performance of your computer. This can be mitigated with a selective install, but then if you knew what to select, then you may as well get the files from the source.