PC freezes completely when gaming. Have to switch off at power button.

Having a bit of a problem latel. Sometimes when playing games, usually about 5-10 mins in, my PC freezes completely. No inputs work(keyboard or mouse), all sound stops, image freezes on screen, cant use ctrl+alt+del and I have to turn it off by holding power button down. Doesnt always happen. Was fine playing Destiny 2 for several hours without crash but had 4 today. Updated Windows and GfX drivers recently. I am not really tech savvy at all. Just want the PC working again. Pls help
Hi, RobertBowman1

Ok I'll give you some tips.

1.- Review the Ram Memory with
https://www.windowscentral.com/how-check-your-p...
https://www.memtest86.com/

2.- Check your SSD or HDD with (chkdsk)

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee8...

3.- Re-create the USB or DVD to install the Operating System, because sometimes it is damaged or corrupted.

Standard Disclaimer: There are links to non-Microsoft websites. The pages appear to be providing accurate, safe information. Watch out for ads on the sites that may advertise products frequently classified as a PUP (Potentially Unwanted Products). Thoroughly research any product advertised on the sites before you decide to download and install it.

53 people found this reply helpful

·

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

Thanks for your feedback.

Hi, i hope you're doing good today.

I'm really sorry to hear that, please try these methods and see if one of them works for you.

Solution 1. Run System File Checker and Fix the Freezing Computer

1. Right-click the Start button and select “Command Prompt (Admin)”.
2. Type "sfc /scannow" into the Command Prompt window and press Enter to run a full system scan.