lsass.exe application error the application failed to initialize (0xc0000005)"

"lsass.exe application error the application failed to initialize (0xc0000005)" on an XP Pro Dell desktop.

I read all of the responses for this problem.
It left me confused.
I am not a guru of PC's (just mainframes)
I am from the old school.
I just want to fix this problem after trying all of the F8 approach.
I am about to pay someone to start all over with an HD wipe and OS install up tp SP3.

Or... I just may jump to the 'other side' altogether! (My son never has these kinds of problems with his Apple/Mac but only complains about not enough software and comes to me for solutions he cant find.)

I have been studying this XP-OS on a Dell for a couple days and now know enough to be dangerous.

Also, this problem showed up after applying a couple of MS serious fixes?

I do not yet know how to get to the BIOS.  I am not technically strong yet (but will be by necessity).

How can I download needed fixes with a blank screen?

I have never attempted a reinstall of XP.

I have the following CD's:
* Reinstallation CD MS Win XP Home (including SP1)
   (Currently up to SP3)
* Application: for Reinstalling Dell Tools System Software
* Dell Dimension Resource CD

Dell has 2 partitions: C:\ (system software, Windows, etc.),  and D:\ (all my data, etc.)

So.......there you have it.   And, of course, would sincerely appreciate your help.

And so.......I promise to give back once I find something to give back.

It's great to have anyone on 'this side of the fence'!   (my son is still laughing  -  %^$#@!)

Question Info

Last updated January 1, 2019 Views 10,026 Applies to:
Answer
Answer
trikericy,
     Unfortunately there are numerous things that can cause this issue, including viruses.  Typically pressing F2 when a Dell system is powering on will get you into the BIOS.  But you may need to verify that with Dell for your particular model.