L2TP VPN on Windows 10

Hello. I'm brand new to Windows 10. I've been living in OS X the past few year and just getting reacquainted with Windows. I'm trying to connect to my VPN server which I've been using (and continue to use) successfully with my Macs and iOS devices. L2TP over IPSEC.

I cannot connect to the VPN on my new Windows 10 laptop, though. I've added Firewall exceptions for UDP 50, 500, 4500 and it has made no difference. If I completely disable the firewall and any antivirus, I still can't connect. I get this message: 

Can't connect to VPN
The network connection between your computer and the VPN server could not be established because the remote server is not responding. This could be because of one of the network devices (e.g, firewalls, NAT, routers, etc) between your computer and the remote server is not configured to allow VPN connections.

I opened a Wireshark capture and there are ISAKMP packets going between my machine and the VPN server, but it doesn't connect. I've searched all over the internet and haven't found a solution. Surely I'm not the only person in the world trying to connect to a VPN with Windows 10's built in VPN client?

Thanks for anyone that can share some knowledge! 

You are definitely not alone.

I found an article that suggested adding a registry setting to allow Windows to work with L2TP when behind a NAT which is likely the case for you.  Now this setting didn't help me but I'd be interested to know if it does for you.

REG ADD HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\PolicyAgent /v AssumeUDPEncapsulationContextOnSendRule /t REG_DWORD /d 0x2 /f

You need to run that with admin right from a command prompt or pick it apart and do it manually in regedit.

As far as I can see it is a fault somewhere in Windows 10 that was introduced as an android phone using the same wifi network can connect with no issue at all.

1 person was helped by this reply

·

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.