Junction Links, Windows 10

Hello, I am quite new to Windows and PC.

I have recently bought a stationary windows computer with two seperate drives and I have some questions.

First of all it seems like all my downloads is automaticly saved on my C drive. However i do not want this to be the case. I have read some on the internet and stumbeled across something called Junction Links. A hard link between local directories.

An example:

I made a folder on my D drive with the name "Photos". Since I want my photos to be saved in this folder and not in the "Photos" folder on my C drive, I created a junction link like this in command prompt:

C:\windows\system32>mklink /J C:\Photos D:\Photos

If I have understood this correctly, whenever I save a photo in my Photos folder on my C drive, it will actually be saved in my Photos folder on my D drive. Correct? 

I know that this is kind of an useless example as photos can be moved between drives without problems as long as they are not linked to anything. But, say I want to download a program or such. If anyone has a better way to move programs from C drive to D drive I am waiting for your response!

Thank you!

Hi Martin,

Junctions or Symbolic Link are basically advanced shortcuts wherein you create a Symbolic Link from the original location of the file/folder referencing to your desired location. For example, you have a program that requires its files to run in C:\Programs but you want this directory saved in D:\Programs. You can move the directory to your desired location then create a Symbolic Link in C:\Program pointing to D:\Program. The program will still try to access its files from C:\Program but will be redirected to D:\Program and everything will just work as if it were in C:\Program.

What you actually want, however, cannot be achieved by using Junctions. If you are looking for a way to change the default locations where your downloads, music, photos, videos go in to, please follow these steps: