How to change the font on Windows 10 desktop icons

I have Windows 10 Home Version 1909.  Somehow the desktop icon font changed from solid black to white letters   I'm new to Windows 10 so I obviously did something in trying to personalize a new PC, but how can I change the font back to solid black lettering?  Please, my old eyes just don't work with the ghostly white font.

Joan

|
Hi OceanJoan,

This is Wil, one of the independent advisor, an expert with Windows 10 and a fellow Windows 10 user like you. I understand your concern about desktop font colors.

Desktop font colors actually vary depending on the desktop background that you have. If your desktop background is a dominant light-colored image, your desktop font would be black, and if it's a dominant dark-colored image, your desktop font would be white. Let's try this one. Kindly change first your desktop background to a solid color like yellow or orange and then check first your font colors. If the font colors are okay, try to change your desktop background to a picture of your choice.
Try to follow the steps on this link on how to change the desktop background to a solid color. https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/17144/...

I hope the information I provided will help you. If you need further assistance please do reply back and I will respond as quickly as possible. Have a nice day.

Thanks,
Wilfred P.
Independent Advisor

8 people found this reply helpful

Was this reply helpful?

Yes
No

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

Thanks for your feedback.

My background is a teal solid color.  I've made it very light but the icon font is still white letters outlined in black.  What now?

2 people found this reply helpful

Was this reply helpful?

Yes
No

Sorry this didn't help.

Hi Joan. Can you please send me a screenshot of your desktop so I can examine it better.