Error: "Windows detected file system corruption on OS (C:). You must check disk for errors before it can be restored" while running System Restore.

I am not tech savvy so please bare with me.

I tried system restore and got this message:

Windows detected file system corruption on OS (C:). You must check disk for errors before it can be restored.

OK did nothing, so my dad checked for errors for me and none were found.

We tried to restore again and got the same message.

Also, Disk defragment only shows Recovery Drive and doesn't respond to the Analyze or Defragment buttons. I'm pretty sure this is related to the above problem because they occured at the same time.

Please try to help in a way a complete idiot can understand. I really appreciate any help. Thank You.

Answer
Answer

Hi jolieisanangel,

The most prominent reason for the error message is file system corruption on the hard disk. It can also occur due to corruption of Windows system files.

Disk defragment not responding to Analyze or Defragment buttons can be attributed to corrupt files, folders, or bad sectors on the hard disk. If a disk that you're expecting to see under Current status is not showing up there, it might be because it contains an error. Try to repair the disk first, and then return to Disk Defragmenter to try again.

You can try executing SFC /SCANNOW command and then run CHKDSK /F command to repair file system issues.

Step 1: Run System File Checker (SFC) scan

Detailed explanation on how to run the scan is provided in the article below.

How to use the System File Checker tool to troubleshoot missing or corrupted system files on Windows Vista or on Windows 7

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929833

In case SFC scan doesn’t repair the files, follow the steps given in the link above to repair those corrupted files.

In addition, follow Step 2.

Step 2: Run CHKDSK /F