Easy, free (or cheap) Backup Suggestions (2023) Windows 10

Your files should always be backed up because a hard drive can die at any time without notice. Don't be one of the many I've seen who are crushed by the loss of irreplaceable family pictures or valuable documents! Some suggestions are here based on helping for 14 years in forums with what works best:

1) You can sync your Desktop, Documents and Pictures folder using OneDrive Backup, or just drag valuable files into OneDrive folder, offering 5gb free with additional space for cheap, 1tb with MS 365 subscription: https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/116029-turn-off-folder-protection-onedrive-windows-10-a.html

I have been syncing all my User folders in OneDrive for ten years without problem, using this additional method: Sync, Backup and Store Any/All User Folders to the Cloud with - Microsoft Community. In addition I have a secondary real time User folder backup using Google Drive Desktop.

2) Google Drive has a new Desktop program that allows you to choose User folders (Documents, Pictures, etc.) to sync up to 15gb for free to their cloud in real time so it always has the latest version: https://support.google.com/drive/answer/10838124?hl=en You can sync your Android phone too with this.

3) In addition I'd have an on-site hard copy backup. The best way to do this is to sort all of your files into their User folders and then drag or copy them periodically to another hard drive, or better yet an USB external or flash drive which you keep unplugged to avoid ransomware infection.