Surface Pro 3: scrolling issues in long documents

In any large text document I cannot scroll through the document using two-finger swipe. I also cannot scroll through by swiping on the screen; instead, the screen automatically selects text when I swipe. When the document is not very large, both of these features work fine. This is greatly lowering the efficiency of use of my surface pro 3 as I am a writer and bought this primarily to be able to work on writing books on the go. To be unable to easily swipe through large documents is turning out to be a huge inconvenience. This problem shows up in Word and even in Scrivener. As soon as the document gets too long, swiping malfunctions. Anyone else seeing this problem? Any fix?

Thanks,

Anthony

Hi Anthony,

Thank you very much for your contribution to the Surface Community. I apologize for the inconvenience, and I fully understand your frustration when you cannot scroll the document, especially when it's for your work. I'd love to help you get this issue resolved.

• First and foremost, do you have all Windows updates?
  • When did this issue start appearing?
  • Is this app specific, or happens whenever a document becomes large? I understand that you are experiencing the issue on Word and Scrivener - does this happen on a web browser, Notepad, etc. (wherever text is), as well?
  • Are you using a Cover (Type Cover/Touch Cover/Power Cover)? If so, does the touchpad function properly?
  • If this is app/program specific, have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling them?

Please let me know. Hope to hear from you.

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

Thanks for your feedback.

Hi Shiho_P,