How to connect my Surface Pro to a WPA2-Enterprise Network with PEAP authentication

Hello all,

I am trying to connect my Surface Pro to a WPA2-Enterprise Network with PEAP authentication at my work.  The company I work for has a separate wireless network for employees to connect personal devices to.

I am not a network admin, I have no access or knowledge of the how the wireless network is setup or the equipment/company that the network is setup on (i.e. I have seen Cisco listed in other posts as being problematic, I don't know if we use a Cisco network or not).  I haven't gotten our IT guys involved because it is clearly stated that our IT group doesn't fully support this network and we are on our own in getting assistance in connecting devices.

I don't believe there is any issue on the network side that would be causing me any problems as I have been able to connect an android smartphone (running ICS) without issue.  I don't know of anyone else having problems either, although I don't know of anyone else connecting with a Window 8 device, let alone a Surface.

I have tried the instructions on another post on this site (the instructions are quoted below) about manually configuring the network and that didn't work for me.  Changing the WPA2 Enterprise from AES to TKIP caused error message saying that my settings didn't match the network requirements. Using the AES option allowed me to hit "Connect" but it just sat there and eventually timed out before connecting.

I am not very knowledgeable about network connectivity or any of the settings/options, so specificity in the insturctions of any solution would be better.  Any help on this would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

"Answer

sfm5 replied on
Figured out a work-around.  It might be local to the wacky network configuration here, but might prove to be helpful for anyone else having the problem.  Here's how I fixed it:

1) Removed the <ssid> from my list of known networks