Touchpad not working on Surface Book

So for the last couple weeks my touch pad has not been responsive at all. My keyboard still works fine, and I haven't had a spill or anything of any kind that might imply some kind of hardware damage. I literally just opened my surface one day and the touchpad was completely unresponsive. 

I've run the troubleshooter multiple times to no avail. As of late I've been using a wireless mouse and/or the touch screen but I'd really like to try and get the touchpad to work again, especially because I have no idea what caused this.

It might be interesting to note that when I got to the Device Manager and click on the "mouse and other pointers" tab, it does not show the touchpad. There are three different "HID-Complian Mouse options" (even though I only have one connected) but no touchpad option. 

Any help is appreciated. I love my surface but I don't have the money to buy I'm a college student and I don't have the money to buy a new one. We bought this laptop thinking it would last me all four years and I haven't even hit the two year mark with it so I would really love to try and get it working :(

Hello ChristinaCarty,

We appreciate your time on raising this concern to us.  For us to better assist you, please answer our few questions below:

1. What is the type or model of your Surface Book?

Here's how you can check it:

• On search bar type dxdiag.

• Under System, check for System Model.

2. What was the last thing you’d done before the issue happened?

3. Have you installed any applications/updates before the issue occur?

4. Are you getting any error message?

For the meantime, please do the following basic trouble shooting steps below:

Restart your Surface:

• Go to Windows > Power > Restart

Run Surface Diagnostic Toolkit.