Is this new Outlook.com ready or not? ON mulitple computers can't email a contact using the TO box?

Using, Windows 10

Edge.

I am a computer tech by trade FYI.

----------------------

I had read that the new Outlook.com was out of Preview.

I see we still have the BETA switch though.

I was talking up the new version to a friend and even convinced them to move over to it. To my immediate dismay, when I try to show them how to email someone.

1. I click the "new message" link
  2. type in the first letter of a persons name and it does not list everyone who's name starts with "A".
  3. I then type in the entire first name, NOTHING comes up. But it DOES exist in Contacts
  4. But then there is no way to get to contact list. I click the TO button and it says "my contacts" just below it. I click that and nothing.

I sign in and out of multiple accounts to test this. Same thing.

It even does the same thing on someone elses computer using Chrome, I was using Edge on mine.

This is basic functionality here, am I missing something? Please help. One would think that when I type in the first letter of a persons name EVERYONE with that letter would appear and it would allow me to keep typing to finally narrow it down. 

Whats up? See photo below, I click "my contacts" AFTER clicking "TO" in an attempt to bring up the list;  and nothing happens!

Even the dumbed down mail app gets this right, very confused and a bad start to what's supposed to be an easy transition for my friend, REALLY bad first impression.

JF

* Please try a lower page number.

* Please enter only numbers.

Hello Jimmy,

You may encounter issues in emailing a contact due to temporary server or browser issues. As things may have changed since the last time you posted, may we know if you're still encountering the same concern?

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.