Outlook 2007 has started popping up an "Enter Network Password" prompt with my Gmail account, and can't receive messages

This issue isn't about Outlook.com as such, but rather, Outlook. I've been using Outlook 2007 and Gmail for many years with no issues, and yesterday I began receiving an "Enter Network Password" pop-up prompt and can't receive e-mails. I haven't changed any settings. The pop-up shows correct info... Server: pop.gmail.com, User Name: my name, and Password (asterisks). All is the same as it's always been. "Save this password in your password list" is unchecked, and when I check it and click OK, it just keeps popping up with the box unchecked. The only way I can get rid of the pop-up is by clicking on the X or Cancel. I can send and receive messages when logging directly onto my Gmail account, but not via Outlook. This has just come out of nowhere. I've contacted my provider and after an hour, the tech couldn't figure it out. I'm running Win 7 Pro and tried a system restore to the day before this started, but made no difference. I have a separate e-mail through my provider that has no issues with Outlook, just Gmail. Unfortunately everyone I know has this e-mail address, and the one on my business cards. I've done all updates and checked all Gmail settings, verified by the provider.

Any thoughts?

Hi BallyshannonDC,
Are you use 2-step verification? If not, you need to verify that google did not turn off 'Allow less secure apps' in the security settings.
--
Diane Poremsky
M365 MVP, specializing in Outlook, Exchange, and Microsoft 365 apps.

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

Thanks for your feedback.