Default View in Word 2016

How do I make Web Layout the default view in Word 2016.  I am a novice and have no idea about macros.  I have manually edited the normal.dotm file and if I open it from the folder then it opens in Web Layout just fine, but when I open Word and click the template tp create a blank document - it opens in Page Layout.

Anyone got any suggestions?  Keep them simple please.

Question Info

Last updated August 27, 2019 Views 4,922 Applies to:
Answer
Answer

Word no longer supports saving the view in a document or template. This was a design change in Word 2013. To force a certain view you will have to install auto macros as follows.

Sub AutoOpen()
ActiveWindow.View.Type = wdWebView   'Web Layout view
ActiveWindow.View.Zoom.Percentage = 100  '100% zoom
End Sub

Sub AutoNew()
ActiveWindow.View.Type = wdWebView   'Web Layout view
ActiveWindow.View.Zoom.Percentage = 100  '100% zoom
End Sub

Add these macros to the Normal template. See also http://www.gmayor.com/installing_macro.htm.

Note that the macro is useful even for older versions of Word, if you want to change the view for all documents: existing ones, new ones, those that you create yourself and those that you receive from other people.

Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP
Volunteer Moderator
~~~~
Note that MVPs do not work for Microsoft
MVP program information: https://mvp.microsoft.com/
~~~~

3 people were helped by this reply

·

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

Answer
Answer

Stefan's reply is specific to your question. A more general answer is a tool that another MVP has created to save the last used view with the document:

Word 2013 - Restore open in last view used - addin

<snip>