Question

Q: Macro to update links from file with password protection This thread is locked from future replies

I am completely new to Macros but due to some great advice in another post on the forum I am trying to get a macro to update links I have in a workbook that is linked to another excel file sat on a network drive but it has a password protection!

I have recorded the macro opening the 'edit links' and then clicking update values, I add the password for the excel file the links are reading from and stop the macro. When I run the macro afterwards it still comes up asking for the password again?

Any help? 

The overall plan is that I have 36 files around my business and they all read from sections of a 'master' file. The master file must be password protected so everyone can't see the whole master document! This is the closest I have got to getting it to work but I can't get past this password issue when running the macro.

Could you post the code, or at least the portion of it where you are setting up communication with the other (protected) file and trying to update the links so we can see what you have right now?

Now - to confirm: if you were to try to open the other file, you would have to provide a password just to open it by itself in Excel?

It may be that SendKeys() may be needed to do this.  Not sure without seeing your code and testing, and verifying whether the protection is at the file, workbook, or worksheet level.

I am free because I know that I alone am morally responsible for everything I do. R.A. Heinlein

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Could you post the code, or at least the portion of it where you are setting up communication with the other (protected) file and trying to update the links so we can see what you have right now?

Now - to confirm: if you were to try to open the other file, you would have to provide a password just to open it by itself in Excel?