You're missing out! Enable Microsoft Teams for your company - Students not able to access Teams

I work in a school and we have Office 365 A1 Plus for students and Office 365 A1 Plus for faculty licenses allocated - both of these show Teams licenses to be on, and the users are all showing up in Teams admin centre as there, with a directory status as Online and an interpreted user type of PureOnlineSfBUser (students) and PureOnlineTeamsUser (staff).  Staff can access Teams either through the web or the desktop app (Windows 10) but students are getting the error message You're missing out! Ask your admin to enable Microsoft Teams for your company on both the web and the desktop app.  What do I need to do to get this working?  Thanks.

Hello Philip,

We’re very sorry for the issue you are having. Office 365 A1 plus supports Teams service, since staff can access Teams, only students can’t use Teams, I suggest you can firstly login Office 365 admin center, navigate to Settings-> Service & add-ins, in add-ins list, scroll down to find Teams, just to make sure the switch “Turn Microsoft Teams on or off for all users of this type” is turned on.

If above settings is already turned on, but issue is not fixed, you may select one student account, temporarily unassigned his Teams license, and assign again, then wait for a while to let changes reflect to user account configuration, and then check if issue still persists.

Moreover, if above steps can’t sort out the issue, may I confirm if all students receive the same error whenever login Teams web app and Teams desktop app? If convenient, may I collect one Teams debug log from you in Private Message for checking (to protect your privacy)? You can click this link to access private message view: https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/privatemessage/inbox

Best Regards,

Anna

--------* Beware of Scammers posting fake Support Numbers here.

1 person found this reply helpful

·

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.