I have been using the AutoCorrect.dotm utility to Back up and Restore my MSO1033.acl Autocorrect file.. Is it possible to make edits in the Backup docx file, and then restore?

The reason I ask is that I have successfully made minor edits (changing the spelling of a word) and that was OK when I restored.

However, I just did a more major edit and using the Word Table functions, deleted a number of rows from the Backup .docx file.  However, when I tried to restore this file, it did not restore.

There was no error message.  The progress bar completed, but when I examined the cutocorrects in the Word form, it was clear that there had been no change produced by the restore.

Have you any advice please?

 

Question Info


Last updated August 12, 2018 Views 69 Applies to:
Answer

Hi Lewis,

The revised AutoCorrect2007.zip file is now on my website at https://jay-freedman.info/.

The Restore section first adds any new entries from the backup document to the AutoCorrect list. Then it makes a second pass (unfortunately, it's several times slower than the first) looking for entries that exist in the list but are not in the backup table. The first time it finds one, a message box asks whether you want to delete entries -- if you didn't intentionally edit the backup, click No. If you click Yes, it takes that as permission to delete all unmatched entries from that point forward.

There is an oddity that I can't quite explain: If you look at the AutoCorrect dialog while the AutoCorrect.dotm file is still open, the allegedly deleted entries will still be in the list. Once you close that file, the entries will be gone.

I'd love to see your giant list of typos. You can send it to either of the addresses shown at https://jay-freedman.info/contact/contact.htm. (This forum automatically deletes email addresses from posts, but URLs are OK.)

_____________________________
https://jay-freedman.info

2 people were helped by this reply

·

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

Answer

By design (mine!), the AutoCorrect backup/restore NEVER deletes any entries. It does replace old values of existing entries with new values if they've been changed in the backup document, but removing entries from the document has no effect.

I could add that feature if you'd find it useful. As a safety measure, I would include a popup when the first possible deletion is found, asking for permission to proceed. If you click Yes, then all deletions would be enabled; if you click No, then no deletions would be done. I'd also recommend that you create a backup copy of the old backup document before you edit it, in case you want some of those deleted items returned.

_____________________________
https://jay-freedman.info

3 people were helped by this reply

·

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.