Discussion

Insider Fast: Editor – A new digital writing assistant

Hi Insiders –

My name is Alfredo, and I’m a program manager on the Natural Language Experiences Team.

If you receive builds of Office 2016 for Windows through the new Office Insider Fast level, you now have access to new Editor feature, which offers improved proofing tools in Word 2016 and Outlook 2016. The features described below are available in build 16.0.7409.1000 or later.

• First, we’ve expanded upon Word’s current spelling and grammar tools to inform you why words or phrases may not be accurate—teaching at the same time it is correcting.
  • Second, we’ve overhauled Word’s visual proofing cues so you can distinguish at a glance between edits for spelling (red squiggle), grammar (blue double underline) or writing style (gold dotted line). Since Outlook uses Word as an email editor, you’ll see these new tools in email messages, too.

What's new?

• Improved proofing and editor tools. Leveraging machine learning and natural language processing—mixed with input from our own team of linguists—Editor makes suggestions to help you improve your writing.

• Red squiggle for spelling errors: Editor uses visual cues to distinguish between edits for spelling (red squiggle), grammar (blue double underline) and writing style (gold dotted line). When you see a red squiggle below a word, right-click on the word and choose one of the suggestions to fix the error. Spelling suggestions have synonyms to help disambiguate between the choices. Choose the most appropriate suggestion to correct the spelling.

• Blue underline for grammatical errors: Word checks for potential grammatical errors as you type and indicates the error with two blue underlines. When you see two blue underlines below a word or a phrase, right click on the word or phrase and choose one of the suggestions to fix it.