Insiders: Researcher for Word for Mac is here!

Hi Office for Mac Insiders,

Updated: 8/9/2017

Great news! This feature is now available for the Insiders Slow audience in Version 15.37 (Build 17080500).  Thanks so much for your invaluable feedback. We've made several quality and stability improvements.  Please try out the latest version and let us know what you think.  We're continuing to make improvements to this feature and we'll be watching for additional feedback as we do! :D

-Douglas

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I’m Douglas, and I’m a program manager in Office. Last year, we announced the availability of Office Researcher feature for Word for Windows Desktop. Today, we’re excited to bring Researcher to our Mac users, currently available to Insiders FAST users.

Researcher can help you write well-researched papers quickly by helping you find reliable sources, insert high-quality images, cite and create bibliography without leaving Word. We built this feature through a close relationship with the Bing team and are excited to hear what you think about it!

Get a quick overview by watching this video:

Availability

To see the Researcher pane, you must:

1. Be an Office 365 subscriber on the Insider Fast or Slow level.
  2. Have Version 15.37 (Build 17080500) or later installed.
  3. The Researcher feature supports these languages/markets:
        • English – US
        • English – GB
        • French – France
        • Italian - Italy
        • German – Germany
        • Spanish – Spain
        • Japanese – Japan

Getting started

You can access the Researcher pane by clicking the References tab and then click on Researcher.

Learn more about Researcher in our help article: Research for your paper easily within Word.

Try the following scenarios

Here are a few things we’d like for you to try:

1. Do a search for a topic you’re writing about and explore the results. Did you find what you’re looking for?