Error message ''You have to delete all the items in this folder before you delete the folder"

Hi Team,

While trying to delete the folder I am getting an error  ''You have to delete all the items in this folder before you delete the folder". What could be the reason here? This site is not on-hold. Thank you for your help.

Kind Regards,

AK

hi akshay,

do you want to delete the folder from cloud or from the local synced folder? what permission do you have for this folder? you can navigate to the folder, click “”>advanced>shared with>advanced>let us know you can see stop inheriting permissions or delete unique permissions> click check permissions>enter your account>check now>capture a screenshot for the results.

if you can create new folder in this library, you may create a test folder and upload some test files to this folder. check if you can delete the test folder. it can let us know if the issue is related to the specific folder.

moreover, is this folder stored in sharepoint online team site library? if yes, test in other libraries with test folders to see if the issue is only related to a specific library. you can also let the site owner to check if he/she can delete the folder. 

to post a picture, click use rich formatting>insert/edit media icon  in the thread page.

best regards,
tim

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback.

Hi Tim,

I am trying to delete the folder from site in browser. It's not synced. I would like to know is it possible to delete the folder without deleting the item/documents inside folder or do we need to delete the items/documents first before deleting the folder?

Kind Regards,

AK

1 person found this reply helpful

·

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback.

Hi Team,

Sorry to push again but can you please answer asap since this is urgent.

Appreciate your help

Kind Regards,

AK

1 person found this reply helpful

·

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback.

hi akshay,

normally, when we delete a folder, we don't need to firstly delete the items in it. we can directly delete the folder. however, for the folder in a site which is on hold, we will get this error message. in this situation, we can access the folder to delete all the items in it, and then delete the folder.


note:it needs some times to take effect after disabling the hold. the error message will disappear at that time.

the users in ediscovery group who have the proper permissions can view or edit the case in this page. they can check which site is on hold with ediscovery case. here is an article for your reference.

if you still cannot delete the folder or the site has never been on hold, please post back. we may need to collect some trace logs for further investigation.

best regards,
tim

1 person found this reply helpful

·

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback.

Hi Tim,

Thank you for the confirmation. I am happy with the information provided. Case can be closed.

Kind Regards,

AK

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback.

I'm having the same problem. I uploaded my User folder and want to upload my new one and and it won't let me because it has the same name...so I tried to delete it and it's trying to make me go through and delete every single sub-folder before I can delete it. How can this be a thing. I deleted it weeks ago from my computer..I just can't get it to delete from the OneDrive website.. Very frustrating.

1 person found this reply helpful

·

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback.

 
 

Question Info


Last updated October 25, 2020 Views 16,202 Applies to: