How to preserve table design when appending data

Hi,

I'm new to access and I'm currently appending a large amount of data together. One issue I have when I'm doing this is that the number of allowed decimal points keeps changing. I have tried creating a copy in design view and setting all the fields to number, size to single, type to fixed and then to decimal places. However when I append new data to this table it modifies the design to that of the data being imported. How can I get round this?

Could you give a couple concrete examples of your table field properties vs what you import vs what you expect the result should be.
--
Daniel Pineault
Microsoft MVP 2010-2021

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

Thanks for your feedback.

I'm importing large amounts of weather station data, some of which has been rounded to two decimal places and some which has not. I now have over 1,100,000+ entries and I wanted to achieve uniform formatting. However when I try to change the individual fields in design view I get an error that there is not enough disk space. I had read a workaround is simply to copy the table in design view without the data, amend the individual fields and then append it back in. When I do this though it reverts back to the original format.

This is the desired format

This is what I have in the table and results in no decimal rounding

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

It's important to understand there is a difference between STORAGE of data, and DISPLAY of data.

Every Single number is stored in some hard-to-understand 4-byte binary format; every Double in 8 bytes. Just let that happen.

When it comes time to display a number, you can apply formatting, e.g. Fixed with 2 decimals. This formatting is usually applied to the control displaying the value.

-Tom.
Microsoft Access MVP
Phoenix, AZ