relationship must be on the same number of fields with the same data type

I am brand new to Access and and trying to learn it by slogging my way through the MS Access 2010 Bible.

I am trying to set the relationship between two tables. One is a list of court jurisdictions that has a key field that is an AutoNumber field. A second table is a list of judges. I am trying to link the two in a one to many relationship.

When I link the Jurisdiction field in the Judges table to the Key field in the Jurisdiction field it will not let me enforce referential integrity. It gives me the error message that is the subject of this question. The jurisdiction field in the Judges table is a text field. I thought that might be the problem, but:
  1. it cannot be an AutoNumber field and
  2. I can't change it to a Number type even though I have deleted the relationship. When I try, I get an error message telling me to delete the relationship, but I already have done that.
Thanks for any help.
Answer
Answer
The Jurisdiction column in the Judges table should be a long integer number data type whose value must be one of the values of the autonumber primary key of the Jurisdictions table.  It may be that you have values in the column in the judges table which are not represented in the Jurisdictions table.  You would still be able to create a relationship, but not enforce referential integrity, which would make the relationship pointless of course as it would do nothing to ensure the integrity of the data.  So the first thing to do is check for unmatched Jurisdiction numbers in the Judges

Having a foreign key in Judges does presume that each judge relates to only one jurisdiction, however.  Is that the case or could a judge relate to more than one jurisdiction?  If the latter then you have a many-to-many relationship type between Jurisdictions and Judges.  A many-to-many relationship type is always modelled by a third table, so you'd have tables in outline along these lines: