[Feature Request] Markdown support - but the good way

I didn't know where to go for official feedback so hopefully this is the right place.

I'm a programmer so I understand what I am requesting is niche and doesn't really apply to the masses, but as technology becomes more ingrained in our lives things like markdown support are being used by all skill levels; even YouTube comments and discord support some basic markdown styling. So maybe this would apply to more users than I think?

Anyways, straight to it.

It would be great for OneNote to support markdown styling/typing. I use it so frequently that it's second nature and when I'm in OneNote I forget it's not supported and make so many mistakes because of it.

Here's what I would recommend as the vision: displaying the markdown preview always until you click in the text box or on text in the bounds, which would then convert it to syntax. I'm talking the heavy lifting support too like anchors, images, checkboxes.

My idea of it can be visualized via the following demonstration:

Browsing or typing outside the markdown space:

And when you click inside the text it transforms to its respective syntax, naturally:

Additionally, the goal is to support the extended syntax as well [reference], with wishful/hopeful thinking on the emoji support.
Fortunately, OneNote already has all the elements necessary to make this happen visually, even checkmarks and inline images.