Windows Insider Preview 14905 breaks bash

I signed up for the Windows Insider previews prior to the release of the big anniversary update as I am a web developer and having the bash command line support is phenomenal. I used VirtualBox and vagrant for quite some time. It was annoying but each build update I would get I would have to re-download my vagrant box so that it would boot up properly. So then it finally broke to the point where it wouldn't boot at all and everything I tried would not work. So I made the full switch to essentially running a LAMP server on bash instead. Now I get this build and I cannot open bash command prompt. It worked last night when I left work. It updated over night. I sign in and go to open it and nothing.

If you happen to know why this is, and more importantly how to fix it I'd love to hear it.

Interestingly, if you open windows command prompt and type it "bash" to try and run it there I get a line that says "Error 0x80070005". Again, not sure if this helps. My google (or Bing!) search of this error says it's a permissions problem but I've still been unable to resolve it.

Thanks in advance!

Craig

EDIT: Just went to restart my PC and when I click on the start button and then click on the power button icon the start menu just disappears and I am not presented with the option to shutdown or restart. If I do a CTRL-ALT-DEL and go to that screen I can click the power button and get the options however... annoying but workable.

Question Info

Last updated May 18, 2018 Views 87 Applies to:

"... If I do a CTRL-ALT-DEL and go to that screen I can click the power button and get the options however... annoying but workable."

..Yes, a bit annoying. Maybe the next build will fix it.

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?