Programs autostart after boot in Windows 10 Fall Creators Update

Hi,

In this build I have a problem with Chrome and NordVPN. When I turn off the PC and I log in the next day, it recovers the lastest pages visited in Chrome and it open automatically NordVPN I have fast statup disabled and the option "use my login info for complete updates" disabled and the problem is still here. I'm facing this issue since 16251

Here's the steps that I performed : 

1. Configuring registries : 

regedit > hkey local machine > system > current control set  > control > session manager > memory management
Enable "Prefetchers" and Modify it to "1"
2. Disable third party application services running : 

-press windows logo button + r then type in : msconfig
-then please go to "Services" tab
-And then select the box that says "Hide all Microsoft services"
-Then hit "Apply" and "Ok"

I can't perform a System Restore or Create another user. I want a fix (if possible in the user that I'm using now)

Is there any way for fix it?

Thanks

EDIT: This is a new feature of Windows 10 Fall Creators Update. We need to get this changed soon.

 

Question Info


Last updated August 18, 2019 Views 73,763 Applies to:

* Please try a lower page number.

* Please enter only numbers.

* Please try a lower page number.

* Please enter only numbers.

And again I'm just  shocked that this made it out of the "hey, here's an idea!" stage, without some well thought out GUI settings for it.  Traditionally Microsoft is great at making things OPTIONAL, and it's like whoever did this...I mean to not even think that "hey, lets make this an easy to set OPTION in the GUI somewhere", to me that means they're not "old Microsoft" that would have done this right.

The good old days when Microsoft made excellent software are long gone. Back then, it was a company run by programmers. Now it is a company run by managers. It is becoming a lot like Apple :-(

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

I'm not 100% sure, but I think this was just added to FCU with the cumulative update KB4058258 (build 16299.214):

I have to do more tests ...

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

Meaning that the switch actually has an effect now in RS3?  If so, that would be surprising, but maybe they recognized the need in advance of RS4.

Of course, what "Jennifer G" actually says in that Feedback screenshot isn't entirely true: it's already enabled. It doesn't just occur for "users that have enabled" it, because it's enabled out of the box. Users have to know enough to turn it off, which very few will know to do.

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

Confirmed, in my PC with FCU (16299.214) the apps or programs open before rebooting (Chrome, word, excel etc) doesn't autostart if this toggle is disabled:

This only happens after installing this cumulative update, in the build 16299.192 that toggle had no effect in this "feature".

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

Confirmed.

It's funny, isn't it, that this change came about "early" (essentially a backport from RS4) only after it started getting some play in the tech press. I'm sure that it's just a coincidence.

They did the absolute bare minimum though, which means that this thread will keep growing.

What they need to do next is to disable it by default, for both new installs and those upgrading. Basically like the Feedback item pictured a few posts back implies is already the case but isn't.

Then they need to consciously uncouple the toggle from what is still a useful feature (finishing setting up the device automatically--most people actually want that!) and give it its own toggle that is clearly named and easy to find.

Only then will this thread die off.

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

Why the hell are these two things linked? Why can't I stop from normal applications like my browser from restarting for no reason, but let newly installed applications finish setting up?

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

This has actually become a massive security risk for our organization. I am reverting our kiosks back to Windows 7 until this is resolved.

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

It already is resolved in KB4058258

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

Ahhh, i see. OK, updating now, thanks!

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

Once the KB4058258 update is applied you will then need to turn off the following setting:

Settings->Accounts->Sign-In options->Privacy->”Use my sign-in info to automatically finish setting up my device after an update or restart”

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

* Please try a lower page number.

* Please enter only numbers.

* Please try a lower page number.

* Please enter only numbers.